August 15, 2011

ECAC Announces 2011 Division III Women's Lacrosse Upstate All-Stars

CENTERVILLE, Mass.—The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) on Monday announced its Division III Women’s Lacrosse Upstate All-Star Team. Receiving individual awards, pictured left to right, Kathy Taylor is the ECAC Coach of the Year and Lindsay Abbott is the ECAC Offensive Player of the Year, both from SUNY Cortland, while Meg Pengue of Hamilton College is the ECAC Defensive Player of the Year and SUNY Geneseo attacker Caroline Buonocore is the ECAC Rookie of the Year.

Abbott, a junior, was selected to the 2011 Synapse Sports/ Division III All-America squad after leading the nation in total assists (76) and ranking second in total points (138). That organization also made her national Midfielder of the Year, while Abbott made her second All-America first team appearance of the season by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA). In 23 games, she totaled 62 goals, 95 draw controls, 33 caused turnovers and 45 ground balls, setting school records for single-season points and single-season assists.

Pengue earned a spot on the IWLCA All-America first team for the first time in her career. The 2011 Liberty League Defensive Player of the Year led a Continentals team that ranked fourth in NCAA Division III in scoring defense with 6.50 goals allowed per game. The junior ranked 11th nationally with 2.55 caused turnovers per game, and her 51 caused turnovers are the most by a Hamilton player since 1999, when the statistic was not kept. She added 56 ground balls and started all 20 games.

A freshman attacker, Buonocore exploded onto the scene by scoring a Blue Knights record 73 goals, which was sixth in NCAA Division III, with five assists for 78 points on her way to IWLCA first team All-Empire Region, SUNYAC Rookie of the Year and first-team All-State University of New York Athletic Conference honors.

Coach Taylor piloted Cortland to a 21-2 record to set a school record for victories in a season. The Red Dragons won the SUNYAC title and made an appearance in the NCAA Division III Tournament, extending both feats to 13 consecutive seasons. The team advanced to the “final four” for the second time in school history and tied for third nationally after falling 13-11 to eventual national champion Gettysburg.

The head coaches, or his/her designee, within the ECAC membership voted on the teams and individual awards.

2011 ECAC Division III Women’s Lacrosse Upstate All-Stars

Offensive Player of the Year
Lindsay Abbott, MF, Jr., SUNY Cortland (State University of New York Athletic Conference) 

Defensive Player of the Year
Meg Pengue, D, Jr., Hamilton (Liberty League)

Rookie of the Year
Caroline Buonocore, A, SUNY Geneseo (State University of New York Athletic Conference)

Coach of the Year
Kathy Taylor, SUNY Cortland (State University of New York Athletic Conference)              

Attack:  Caroline Buonocore, Fr., SUNY Geneseo (State University of New York Athletic Conf.)

Attack:  Kendyl Clarkson, Jr., Buffalo State (State University of New York Athletic Conference)

Attack:  Michelle Cook, Sr., Nazareth (Empire 8 Conference)

Midfield: Lindsay Abbott, Jr., SUNY Cortland (State University of New York Athletic Conference)

Midfield:  Rachel Friedman, So.,  Hamilton (Liberty League)

Midfield:  Shelby Vakiener, So., Rochester Institute of Technology (Empire 8 Conference)

Midfield: Melissa Leonhard, So., Nazareth (Empire 8 Conference)

Defender:  Meg Pengue, Jr., Hamilton (Liberty League)

Defender:  Tracy Breslin, Sr., Rensselaer (Liberty League)

Defender:  Abby Peterson, Sr., Ithaca (Empire 8 Conference)    

Defender: Kate Cox, Sr., Stevens Institute of Technology (Empire 8 Conference)                

Goalkeeper:  Allie Arnal, So., Rensselaer (Liberty League)