May 29, 2014

Treanor, Douty and Stukenberg Earn Top Honors as the ECAC Unveils 2014 Division I Women’s Lacrosse All-Stars

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) announced its 2014 Division I Women’s Lacrosse All-Star teams today, and the list was headlined by a trio of Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) standouts. Syracuse University sophomore Kayla Treanor (Niskayuna, N.Y.) was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year, and University of Maryland teammates, junior Megan Douty (Fair Haven, N.J.) and freshman Zoe Stukenberg (Howard County, Md.), were tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year, respectively. The voting for the 2014 ECAC Division I Women’s Lacrosse All-Star teams and major award winners was completed by the head coaches within the ECAC Division I Women’s Lacrosse membership. 

Treanor led the nation in scoring this season with 117 points, netting 79 goals and handing out 38 assists. She topped the ACC in points (4.88) and goals (3.29) per game, helping lead Syracuse to a share of the conference title in its first season as a league member. In the 2014 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Tournament, Treanor notched 15 points (9g, 6a) in four games, as the Orange advanced to the national championship game for the second time in three seasons. For her efforts, she was also named an Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) First Team All America and the ACC Offensive Player of the Year.

Douty earned the 2014 ECAC Division I Women’s Lacrosse Defensive Player of the Year honor after anchoring the Terrapins to their 12th national championship. She raked in 36 ground balls and caused 19 turnovers for Maryland, which included nine ground balls and four caused turnovers in NCAA tournament wins over the University of Pennsylvania, Duke University, Northwestern University and Syracuse University. As a team the Terrapins boasted the nation’s ninth-best scoring defense, allowing opponents to score an average of just 7.96 goals per game. Douty was also named an IWLCA First Team All America, a Tewaaraton Award finalist and the ACC Defensive Player of the Year. 

Stukenberg, the 2014 ECAC Division I Women’s Lacrosse Rookie of the Year, appeared in all 24 games for Maryland this season. She registered 47 points in her first season in a Terrapins’ uniform, scoring 35 goals and assisting on 12 others, while also picking up 21 ground balls and securing 23 draw controls. In Maryland’s march to the national title, Stukenberg tallied three goals, added a trio of assists, scooped up six ground balls and caused three turnovers. She was also selected as the 2014 ACC Co-Freshman of the Year.

2014 ECAC Division I Women's Lacrosse Major Award Winners
Name Year Position Institution
Offensive Player of the Year      
Kayla Treanor So. Attack Syracuse University
Defensive Player of the Year      
Megan Douty Jr. Defense University of Maryland
Rookie of the Year      
Zoe Stukenberg Fr. Midfield University of Maryland
2014 ECAC Division I Women's Lacrosse All-Stars
First Team    
Name Year Institution
Taylor D'Amore Sr. Johns Hopkins University
Annie Thomas Jr. Loyola University Maryland
Jackie Cifarelli Jr. Ohio State University
Alyssa Murray Sr. Syracuse University
Kayla Treanow So. Syracuse University
Mikaela Rix Jr. Boston College
Taylor Cummings So. University of Maryland
Beth Glaros Sr. University of Maryland
Kelly McPartland Jr. University of Maryland
Taylor Virden Sr. Duke University
Megan Douty Jr. University of Maryland
Kelsey Sheridan Sr. University of Massachusetts
Meg Markham Jr. University of Pennsylvania
Colleen Smith Jr. Princeton University
Frankie Caridi Sr. Stony Brook University
Second Team    
Name Year Institution
Stephanie Finley Jr. James Madison Univeristy
Andi Raymond Jr. Towson University
Ashleigh Rohrback Sr. Towson University
Loren Generi
Jr. United States Naval Academy
Katie Ferris Sr. University of Massachusetts
Sam Rush Sr. University of Massachusetts
Maria Kotas Sr. Canisius College
Taylor Trimble Jr. Duke University
Marlee Paton Sr. Loyola University Maryland
Taryn VanThof Jr. Loyola University Maryland
Lauren Purvis Sr. Penn State University
Michelle Rubino Jr. Stony Brook University
Adrianne Devine Jr. Georgetown University
Lexi Cross Jr. James Madison University
Maddy Lesher So. Loyola University Maryland
Taylor Donahue Jr. Ohio State University
Tori DeScenza Jr. Ohio State University
*-Denotes Additional Players Added Due to Ties in Voting