May 25, 2010

ECAC Announces 2010 Division III New England Women’s Lacrosse All-Stars

CAPE COD, Mass. – Babson College’s senior midfielder Anna Collins is the 2010 ECAC Division III New England Women’s Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year. Collins had 80 points on the season with 58 goals, including four gamewinners, and 22 assists. She collected 47 ground balls, won 22 draw controls, and caused 26 turnovers during the season.  

Taylor MacDonald of Eastern Connecticut State University and Julia Schreiber from Williams College have been honored as 2010 ECAC Division III New England Co-Defensive Players of the Year. MacDonald, a senior midfielder had an outstanding season, scooping up 63 ground balls, causing 27 turnovers, and winning 71 draw controls. On the offensive end she also scored 32 goals and dished 37 assists for 69 points. Schreiber started every game for Williams in goal.  The junior allowed 160 goals, earning a 8.56 goals against average. Her .529 save percentage was based on the 407 shots faced, earning her a 12-7 record.

Samantha Weinstein of Williams was selected as the 2010 ECAC Division III New England Women’s Lacrosse Rookie of the Year. The freshman midfielder had 49 goals and two assists on the season, giving her 51 points. She also picked up 25 groundballs and posted 12 caused turnovers.

Four student-athletes were selected as ECAC first team attackers. Amy Campbell had a solid season for Colby, scoring 50 goals and dishing out 19 assists.  She won 25 draw controls and caused 12 turnovers. Caitlin Irvine from Trinity had 53 points on the season with 42 goals and 11 assists. The junior started every game for the Mules, tallying 28 draw controls. Senior Ashley Hansbury let Curry with an impressive 120 points on 76 goals and 44 assists.  The dominate attacker won 76 draw controls and picked up 43 ground balls. Finalizing the group is Valerie Feldman from Endicott. The senior posted 106 points on the season, with 58 goals and 48 assists for the Gulls.

Joining Collins and MacDonald in the midfield on the ECAC First All-Star team is Liz Bruno from Trinity. Bruno netted 15 goals and dished out two assists, giving her 17 points on the season. She also caused 51 turnovers and gathered 53 ground balls. Also joining is Katie Stewart from Bowdoin. Stewart scored 35 goals on the season and gave out nine assists, while winning 28 draw controls. The sophomore also caused 33 turnovers and scooped up 26 ground balls. Finalizing the group is senior Shannon Manning from Bridgewater State. The NEWLA Player of the Year totaled 120 points on the season, netting 63 goals and assisting on 57. She recorded 39 ground balls, 78 draw controls and 16 caused turnovers.

Joining on the ECAC first team defensive unit is Colby’s Caroline Duke. Duke helped the Mules advance into postseason play collecting 31 ground balls and causing 45 turnovers. Also joining is Alyssa Kopp from Tufts. The senior was dominate on draw controls, winning 39. Her 39 ground balls and 26 caused turnovers helped lead the Jumbos’ defensive unit. Finalizing the defense is Nicole Poli from Western New England. The junior started every game picking up 52 ground balls and causing 41 turnovers. She also helped out on the offensive end scoring 11 goals and handing out eight assists.

Earning ECAC first team goalkeeper honors is Co-Defensive Player of the Year, Julia Schreiber.  The junior started all 19 games for the Ephs, playing in over 1,100 minutes of action. She ended the season with a 12-7 record.

ECAC 2010 Division III New England Women’s Lacrosse All-Stars

Offensive Player of the Year
Anna Collins, Senior, Midfielder, Babson

Co-Defensive Player of the Year
Taylor MacDonald, Senior, Midfielder, Eastern Connecticut State
Julia Schreiber, Junior, Goalkeeper, Williams

Rookie of the Year
Samantha Weinstein, Freshman, Midfielder, Williams

2010 Division III New England Women’s Lacrosse All-Stars

First Team All-Stars
Amy Campbell, Senior, Attack, Colby
Caitlin Irvine, Junior, Attack, Trinity
Ashley Hansbury, Senior, Attack, Curry
Valerie Feldman, Senior, Attack, Endicott
Liz Bruno, Sophomore, Midfielder, Trinity
Taylor MacDonald, Senior, Midfielder, Eastern Connecticut State
Katie Stewart, Sophomore, Midfielder, Bowdoin
Shannon Manning, Senior, Midfielder, Bridgewater State
Anna Collins, Senior, Midfielder, Babson
Caroline Duke, Senior, Defender, Colby
Alyssa Kopp, Senior, Defender, Tufts
Nicole Poli, Junior, Defender, Western New England
Julia Schreiber, Junior, Goalkeeper, Williams

Second Team All-Stars
Dana Heritage, Senior, Attack, Middlebury
Rachel Romanowsky, Junior, Attack, Trinity
Alyssa Hood, Junior, Attack, Babson
Morgan DeShaw, Sophomore, Attack, Endicott
Jenna Dannis, Sophomore, Midfielder, Bates
Stephanie Perez, Sophomore, Midfielder, Tufts
Kaitlyn Pettengill, Senior, Midfielder, Babson
Perry Markell, Senior, Midfielder, Mount Holyoke
Meredith LaRose, Sophomore, Defender, Amherst
Ginny Lee, Senior, Defender, University of New England
Nicole Papasergiou, Junior, Defender, Roger Williams
Sarah Macary, Junior, Goalkeeper, Babson

Third Team All-Stars
Jessica Knight, Senior, Attack, Univ. of Southern Maine
Lauren Sawyer, Junior, Attack, Keene State
Jenny Jones, Junior, Attack, Bridgewater State
Hailey Colburn, Sophomore, Attack, Wheaton
Meghan Ross, Junior, Midfielder, Emerson
Trisha Babson, Sophomore, Midfielder, Babson
Lindsey Fenton, Senior,  Midfielder, Western New England
Claire Halliday, Junior, Midfielder, Roger Williams
Megan Barrett, Sophomore, Defender, Eastern Connecticut State
Lauren Poppe, Sophomore, Defender, Western Connecticut State
Erin Quimby, Junior, Defender, Bridgewater State
Amanda Magee, Senior, Goalkeeper, Roger Williams

About the ECAC®
The ECAC is the nation's largest athletic and the only multi-divisional conference with approximately 300 Divisions I, II, and III colleges and universities from Maine to North Carolina and westerly to Illinois. Established in 1938, the ECAC, a non-profit service organization, sponsors nearly 100 championships in 37 men's and women's sports, assigns more than 4,400 officials in 12 sports, administers nine affiliate sports organizations and six playing leagues and recognizes more than 2,000 student-athletes through the public relations arm of the conference. The ECAC serves as the primary conference for select members in the sports of men's and women's ice hockey, and men's lacrosse.