July 6, 2011

ECAC Announces Division I Softball All-Stars

CENTERVILLE, Mass.--Fordham University's Jocelyn Dearborn headlines the 2011 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division I Softball All-Star Team, which was announced on Wednesday. The coaches, or his/her designee, within the ECAC membership voted on the teams and individual awards.

A senior third baseman, Dearborn was selected as the ECAC Player of the Year after she batted .350, hit 16 home runs and drove in 44 in 61 games. She was named to the National Fastpitch Coaches' Association/Louisville Slugger Mid-Atlantic Region First Team for the second straight season, while slugging at a .725 clip and reaching base 40.7 percent of the time.

Jenna Caira of Syracuse is the ECAC Pitcher of the Year after going 35-11 with a 1.51 earned-run average. The junior struck out 321 batters in 283.1 innings of work, limiting opponents to a .187 average. In addition to recording four saves, she figured into 39 of the Orange's school-record 45 victories. She led the ECAC membership with her 35 wins. 

Harvard freshman third baseman Kasey Lange is the ECAC Rookie of the Year. Among the candidates for this honor, she led in batting average (.443), hits (70), doubles (20), and RBI (65). She led the Crimson in slugging percentage (.791) and on-base average (.484), helping the program to a record-breaking campaign that ended in an Ivy League championship. 

Bill Edwards is the 2011 ECAC Coach of the Year after leading Hofstra to a 40-13 record and 19-1 conference finish in the Colonial Athletic Association to complete his 22nd season at the helm. The Pride won the CAA regular season title and reached the 40-win plateau for the eighth time during Edwards' tenure.

2011 ECAC Division I Softball All-Stars

Player of the Year
Jocelyn Dearborn, Sr., 3B, Fordham (Atlantic 10)

Pitcher of the Year
Jenna Caira, Jr., Syracuse (BIG EAST)

Rookie of the Year
Kasey Lange, 3B, Harvard (Ivy League)

Coach of the Year
Bill Edwards, Hofstra (Colonial Athletic Association)

First Team
Gina Mason, 1B, Sr., Albany (America East)

Teresa Healy, 2B, Sr., Niagara (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

Julie Towers, SS, Sr., Connecticut (BIG EAST)

Jocelyn Dearborn, 3B, Sr., Fordham (Atlantic 10)

Liz Lucas, C, So., Lehigh (Patriot League)

April Setterlund, OF, Sr., Boston University (America East)

Jessica Phillips, OF, So., Binghamton (America East)

Vangie Galindo, OF, Jr., Maryland (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Brooke Short, DP/Util., So., Longwood (Independent)

Jenna Caira, P, Jr., Syracuse (BIG EAST)

Olivia Galati, P, So., Hofstra (Colonial Athletic Association)

Second Team

Sara Michalowski, 1B, Sr., Hofstra (Colonial Athletic Association)

Ellen Macadam, 2B, Sr., Harvard (Ivy League)

Shannon Jones, SS, So., Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

Kasey Lange, 3B, Fr., Harvard (Ivy League)

Charlise Castro, C, Fr., Maryland-Eastern Shore (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference)

Jordan Reid, OF, Jr., Delaware State (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference)

Tessa Ziemba, OF, So., Hofstra (Colonial Athletic Association)

Tory Speer, OF, Fr., Boston College (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Alyssa Maiese, DP/Util., Sr., Iona (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

Jen Mineau, P, Jr., Fordham (Atlantic 10)

Sara Plourde, P, Jr., Massachusetts (Atlantic 10)