August 10, 2011

ECAC Softball New England All-Stars for Division III Announced

CENTERVILLE, Mass.—The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) on Wednesday announced its Division III Softball New England All-Star Team. Receiving individual awards, pictured left to right, Donna Koczajowski of the U.S. Coast Guard Academy is the ECAC Coach of the Year, Annie Thompson of Simmons College is the ECAC Player of the Year, Coast Guard Academy’s Hayley Feindel is the Pitcher of the Year and Jo Clair from Tufts University is the ECAC Rookie of the Year.

Thompson, a senior shortstop, paced the Great Northeast Athletic Conference in most offensive categories, including batting average (.524), on-base percentage (.563), hits (75) and runs scored (50), securing player of the year accolades in her primary conference. She led Simmons with 18 doubles and five triples and was second with 39 runs batted in. She was an integral part of a record-breaking Sharks squad that went 25-17 overall and 19-5 in GNAC play – two of the best records in program history. The team also advanced to the quarterfinal round of the ECAC Tournament.

A junior, Feindel was a dominant force in the circle all season as she led the nation and set school records for wins (37), strikeouts (457), shutouts (26) and earned-run average (0.56) en route to becoming the first Coast Guard softball player to win first-team All-America accolades by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association. The 2011 New England Intercollegiate Softball Coaches Association (NEISCA) Player of the Year and three-time New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference Pitcher of the Year also became the NCAA Division III all-time leader with 1,206 strikeouts.

Clair made a solid first-impression as she placed on the first team of the NFCA All-New England Region and All-New England Small College Athletic Conference squads. The freshman catcher smashed a Tufts-record 16 home runs – 10 more than anyone else in the NESCAC – to top the region in that category. The NESCAC Rookie of the Year also led the league with 42 RBI while batting .361 and she scored 35 runs in 39 games played.

Coach Koczajowski led the Coast Guard Bears (38-4 overall) to the NEWMAC regular season (15-1 in conference play) and tournament titles for the second straight season. The second-seeded Bears made their third straight NCAA tournament appearance before losing in extra innings to No. 4 Rhode Island College on the final day of the Providence Regional, 2-1 in walk-off fashion. The program was ranked 17th in the final NFCA coaches’ poll.

The head coaches, or his/her designee, within the ECAC membership voted on the teams and individual awards.

2011 ECAC Division III New England Softball All-Stars

Player of the Year
Annie Thompson, Sr., Simmons, SS (Great Northeast Athletic Conference)

Pitcher of the Year
Hayley Feindel, Jr., Coast Guard (New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference)

Rookie of the Year
Jo Clair, C, Tufts (New England Small College Athletic Conference)

Coach of the Year
Donna Koczajowski, Coast Guard (New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference)

First Team

First Base: Lena Cantone, Jr., Tufts (New England Small College Athletic Conference)

Second Base: Lindsay Moore, Fr., Saint Joseph's [Maine] (Great Northeast Athletic Conf.)

Shortstop: Annie Thompson, Sr. , Simmons (Great Northeast Athletic Conference)

Third Base: Jennifer Shaw, So., Bridgewater State (Massachusetts State Coll. Athletic Conf.)

Catcher:  Jo Clair, Fr., Tufts (New England Small College Athletic Conference)

Designated Player: Breann Joyce , So., Springfield  (NEWMAC)

Outfield: Emily Leverone, Jr. , Saint Joseph's [Maine] (Great Northeast Athletic Conference)

Outfield: Rachel Wyrwa, Sr., Western New England (Commonwealth Coast Conference)

Outfield: Taylor Orlando, Sr., Salem State (Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conf.)

Utility: Emily Mangiaratti, So., Lesley (New England Collegiate Conference)

Pitcher: Hayley Feindel, Jr., Coast Guard (New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conf.)

Pitcher: Molly Rathbun, Jr., Eastern Connecticut State (Little East Conference)  

Second Team

First Base: Jennie Lacolla, Fr., Endicott (Commonwealth Coast Conference)

Second Base: Jackie Enos, So., Babson (New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conf.)

Shortstop: Catie Funk, So., Babson (New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference)

Third Base: Holli Bastinck, So., Coast Guard (New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conf.)

Catcher: Amanda Frederick, Sr., Coast Guard (NEWMAC)

Designated Player: Lynn Herman, Sr, Emerson (Great Northeast Athletic Conference))

Outfield: Priscilla Alicea, Jr., Eastern Connecticut State (Little East Conference)

Outfield: Ashley Wright, Sr., Endicott (Commonwealth Coast Conference)

Outfield: Laura Chandler, Jr., Keene State (Little East Conference)

Utility: Sarah Deroche, Sr., Southern Maine (Little East Conference)

Pitcher: Amanda Berard, Sr., Rhode Island College  (Little East Conference)

Pitcher:  Geena Constantin, Sr., Middlebury (New England Small College Athletic Conference)