May 27, 2010

ECAC Announces 2010 Division I Softball All-Stars

CAPE COD, Mass. – Boston University outfielder April Setterlund has been named the 2010 ECAC Division I Softball Player of the Year. Setterlund led the Terriers with a .482 batting average, good for fifth in the country. She also ranked in the top ten in slugging percentage (7th, .861) and on-base percentage (8th, .579). Setterlund’s monster junior campaign helped her team garner an NCAA tournament berth.

Massachusetts’s Sara Plourde has been named the 2010 ECAC Division I Pitcher of the Year. The sophomore had an impressive season, and leads the NCAA in strikeouts with 556 (12.5 per seven innings). She finished the season with a 40-8 record, and her 40 wins are good for tops in Division I. Plourde finished with 1.28 ERA, 17 shutouts, and five no-hitters. She led Massachusetts to its 15th straight NCAA tournament berth.

Rookie of the Year honors go to Hofstra’s Olivia Galati. Galati was a dual threat, making her presence felt in the circle and at the plate. Galati finishes the season with a 26-7 record and a 1.60 ERA. She struck out 294 batters in 232. 1 innings pitched. She also tossed a no-hitter in the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) championship game, the first no-hitter in CAA Tournament history. At the plate, Galati has driven in 27 runs for the Pride, with four home runs.

Fordham’s Bridget Orchard was named Coach of the Year. In this, her ninth season, Orchard coached the Rams to a program-best 49-12 overall record. Under Orchard’s leadership, Fordham earned a berth into the NCAA tournament, where they won their first ever NCAA tournament game.

First team infield selections include Sarah Reeves (Massachusetts), Beckah Wiggins (Fordham), Alex Schultz (Maryland), Bianca Mejia (Long Island) and Michelle Fridey (Canisius). Joining Setterlund as first team outfield selections are Katie Bettencourt (Massachusetts) and Erin Fisher (Fordham). University of Maryland-Baltimore County’s Amanda Fefel joins the first team as a utility player, with Longwood’s Brooke Short selected as a designated player. Joining Plourde on the first team pitching staff is Jen Mineau of Fordham. 


2010 ECAC Division I Softball All-Stars

Player of the Year
April Setterlund, So., OF, Boston University
presented by Combat Sports, Inc.

Pitcher of the Year
Sara Plourde, So., P, Massachusetts

Rookie of the Year
Olivia Galati, Fr., P/DP, Hofstra

Coach of the Year
Bridget Orchard, Fordham
presented by Combat Sports, Inc.

2010 ECAC Division I Softball First Team All-Stars

Sarah Reeves, Sr., 1B, Massachusetts

Beckah Wiggins, Jr., 2B, Fordham

Alex Schultz, Sr., 3B, Maryland

Bianca Mejia, Jr., SS, Long Island

Michelle Fridey, Sr., C, Canisius

April Setterlund, So., OF, Boston University

Katie Bettencourt, So., OF, Massachusetts

Erin Fisher, Sr., OF, Fordham

Amanda Fefel, Sr., UT, UMBC

Brooke Short, Fr., DP, Longwood

Sara Plourde, So., P, Massachusetts

Jen Mineau, So., P, Fordham


2010 ECAC Division I Softball Second Team All-Stars

Michele DePasquale, Sr., 1B, Hofstra

Alexis Souhlaris, Sr., 2B, Maine

Jocelyn Dearborn, Jr., 3B, Fordham

Vicki Kavitsky, Sr., SS, Stony Brook

Deannie Plemon, Jr., C, Binghamton

Carly Normandin, Sr., OF, Massachusetts

Marina Gusman-Brown, Sr., OF, East Carolina

Jordan Reid, So., OF, Delaware State

Kasey Karr, Sr., UT, Lafayette

Jaci Rahey, Jr., DP, Manhattan

Toni Paisley, Jr., P, East Carolina

Olivia Galati, Fr., P, Hofstra


About the ECAC

The ECAC is the nation’s largest athletic and the only multi-divisional conference with approximately 300 Divisions I, II, and III colleges and universities from Maine to North Carolina and westerly to Illinois. Established in 1938, the ECAC, a non-profit service organization, sponsors nearly 100 championships in 37 men’s and women’s sports, assigns more than 4,400 officials in 12 sports, administers nine affiliate sports organizations and six playing leagues and recognizes more than 2,000 student-athletes through the public relations arm of the conference. The ECAC serves as the primary conference for select members in the sports of men’s and women’s ice hockey, and men’s lacrosse.