June 2, 2014

Bailey, Curley and Bannon Take Top Recognition as ECAC Announces 2014 Division III New England Men’s Lacrosse All-Stars

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – Tufts University junior attackman Cole Bailey (Millersville, Md.), Keene State College junior Mike Curley (Billerica, Mass.) and Endicott College freshman Colin Bannon (Westport, Conn.) headlined the 2014 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III New England Men’s Lacrosse All-Stars, which were announced today by the conference office. The voting for the 2014 ECAC Division III New England Men’s Lacrosse All-Stars was completed by the head coaches within the ECAC Division III Men’s Lacrosse membership. 

Bailey, the 2014 Offensive Player of the Year, helped lead the Jumbos to their second NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse national championship and a 21-2 overall record this season. He accounted for 118 points, scoring 53 goals while dishing out a team-high 65 assists. Bailey was the facilitator of the Tufts offensive unit, which ranked second in the country in goals per game (18.39). Bailey ranked eighth nationally in points per game (5.04) and ninth in assists per game (2.78), respectively. He was named the ECAC Division III New England Offensive Player of the Week on April 1 as well as a United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) First Team All-America, the 2014 USILA LT. COL. J.I. (Jack) Turnbull Award winner for Outstanding Attackman and the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Player of the Year.

Curley was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year after guiding the Owls to a 10-7 finish and their fifth NCAA tournament appearance in program history. He corralled 33 ground balls this season and caused 13 turnovers, as Keene State captured the Little East Conference (LEC) Tournament title. Curley anchored a defensive corps that did not allow a conference opponent to score more than 10 goals in any single game. For his efforts, he was also named a USILA All-America Honorable Mention and the LEC Defensive Player of the Year.

Bannon was voted the ECAC Division III New England Men’s Lacrosse Rookie of the Year after putting together one of the finest freshman seasons in Endicott history. He tallied 28 goals and handed out 22 assists for 70 points in his first season of intercollegiate lacrosse. Bannon helped the Gulls advance to the Commonwealth Coast Conference Tournament title game and a berth in the NCAA tournament. In seven conference matchups, he amassed 32 points on 19 goals and 13 assists. Bannon was also named the Commonwealth Coast Conference Rookie of the Year and All-Commonwealth Coast Conference First Team. 

2014 ECAC Division III New England Men's Lacrosse Major Award Winners
Name Year Position Institution
Offensive Player of the Year      
Cole Bailey Jr. Attack Tufts University
Defensive Player of the Year      
Mike Curley Jr. Long Stick Midfielder Keene State College
Rookie of the Year      
Colin Bannon Fr. Attack Endicott College
2014 ECAC Division III New England Men's Lacrosse All-Stars
First Team    
Name Year Institution
Colin Bannon Fr. Endicott College
Cole Bailey Jr. Tufts University
Beau Wood Sr. Tufts University
Mike Devine Sr. Eastern Connecticut State University
Harrison Cotter Jr. Endicott College
John Uppgren So. Tufts University
Alex Bunick Jr. Babson College
Breck Merritt Sr. Endicott College
Matt Giannelli Sr. Springfield College
Jack Liacos Sr. Western New England University
Long Stick Midfield*    
Mike Curley Jr. Keene State College
Kane Delaney Sr. Tufts University
Face-Off Specialist    
Conor Helfrich So. Tufts University
Cameron Bell So. Endicott College
Second Team    
Name Year Institution
Quinn Moroney So. Amherst College
Ryon Lynch Sr. Springfield College
Adam Knapton Sr. Western New England University
John DeAngelis Sr. Becker College
Ryan Hart Jr. Keene State College
Bryce Serriello Jr. Springfield College
Sean Lawton Sr. Western New England University
Christian Cattaruzza Jr. Babson College
Ben Brewster Sr. Bowdoin College
Chris Cooney Jr. Endicott College
Elliot Albert Sr. Wesleyan University
Zach Bartlett Jr. Western Connecticut State University
Ryan Hamilton So. Williams College
Long Stick Midfield    
Pat Miles Sr. New England College
Face-Off Specialist    
Alan Williams Sr. Roger Williams University
Connor Nash Sr. Springfield College
*-Denotes Additional Players Added Due to Ties in Voting