December 20, 2013

ECAC Announces 2013 Division I Women’s Soccer All-Star Teams

PDF Release

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) announced its 2013 Division I Women’s Soccer All-Star teams today, with two BIG EAST student-athletes earning top honors. St. John’s University sophomore forward Rachel Daly (Harrogate, England) was chosen as the Offensive Player of the Year, while Georgetown University senior defender Emily Menges (Garden City, N.Y.) took home the Defensive Player of the Year. Harvard University freshman Margaret Purce was tabbed as the Rookie of the Year. The teams are comprised of student-athletes from a possible 88 institutions from 17 different conferences, and the balloting was completed by head coaches within the ECAC Division I Women’s Soccer membership.

Daly put together one of the finest seasons in St. John’s history in 2013, setting a single-season program record for goals (23) and points (50). She finished the season tops in all of NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer in goals and finished second in total points, points per game (2.38) and goals per game (1.095). Daly was the BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year and was a unanimous choice for the All-BIG EAST First Team. In addition to the pair of program records, Daly became the first St. John’s women’s soccer student-athlete to be named a National Soccer Coaches’ Association of America (NSCAA) All-America selection, as she was named to the Second Team. 

Menges anchored a Georgetown defense that shutout its opponents 10 times this season. She captained the Hoyas to a school single-season record tying 16 wins in 2013 and led them to the NCAA Tournament for the third time in four seasons, advancing to the second round. Menges was named to the NSCAA All-America First Team and was a unanimous First Team All-Big East selection, as well as the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. She was also recognized by Top Drawer Soccer as part of the site’s Best XI Second Team.

Purce racked up 26 points during her first season for the Crimson. She topped the Ivy League in total points and goals (11) and led Harvard to its first undefeated league season in over a decade. Purce was a unanimous First Team All-Ivy selection, named both the Ivy League Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year and earned a place of the NSCAA All-America Third Team.


2013 ECAC Division I Women’s Soccer Players of the Year

Offensive Player of the Year  
Rachel Daly So. St. John’s University

Defensive Player of the Year
Emily Menges Sr. Georgetown University

Rookie of the Year
Margaret Purce Fr. Harvard University


2013 ECAC Division I Women’s Soccer All-Star Teams

First Team


Emily Menges, Sr., Georgetown University
Emily Sonnett, So., University of Virginia
Peyton Johnson, Sr., Harvard University
Becky Sparks, Sr., James Madison University


Daphne Corboz, Jr., Georgetown University
Morgan Brian, Jr., University of Virginia
Hanna Terry, Sr., Northeastern University
Corey Delaney, So., Dartmouth University


Rachel Daly, So., St. John’s University
Makenzy Doniak, So., University of Virginia
Tesa McKibben, Sr., St. Francis University
Frances Silva, Sr., West Virginia University


Ashley Lewis, Sr., Monmouth University


Second Team


Kai Miller, Jr., Boston University
Alecia McNiff, Sr., St. Francis University
Jade Seabrook, Sr., U.S. Naval Academy
Stella Norman, So., Stony Brook University
Courtney Niemiec, Sr., La Salle University
Caroline Dwyer, So., University of Pennsylvania
Kadeisha Buchanan, Fr., West Virginia University


Emma Clark, Sr., Boston University
Jessy Brown, Jr., University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Mo Hawkins, Sr., St. Joseph’s University
Chelsea Duffy, Sr., University of Delaware


Stephanie McCaffrey, Jr., Boston College
Margaret Purce, Fr., Harvard University
Rachel Hill, Fr., University of Connecticut
Morgan Dankanich, Jr., U.S. Naval Academy
Haley Brock, Sr., University of Maryland
Jonelle Fligno, Sr., Rutgers University
Leah Galton, So., Hofstra University
Sam Scolarici, Jr., Hoftsra Unversity


Elizabeth Hoerner, Sr., U.S. Naval Academy


*-Additional Players added due to ties in the voting