December 20, 2013

Caringi, Blake and Larin Receive Top Honors in 2013 ECAC Division I Men’s Soccer

PDF Release

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced its 2013 Division I Men’s Soccer All-Star teams today. Leading the list of players is University of Maryland-Baltimore County senior forward Pete Caringi III (Perry Hall, Md.), who was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year. A pair of University of Connecticut teammates were also honored with Player of the Year laurels, as junior goalkeeper Andre Blake (May Pen, Jamaica) was chosen as the Defensive Player of the Year and freshman Cyle Larin (Brampton, Ontario) was named the Rookie of the Year. The teams are comprised of student-athletes from a possible 88 institutions from 17 different conferences, and the balloting was completed by head coaches within the ECAC Division I Men’s Soccer membership.

For the second consecutive season, Caringi has earned the ECAC Division I Men’s Soccer Offensive Player of the Year. He led the America East Conference in both goals (13) and total points (29), concluding his career in a Retrievers uniform with 37 goals and 91 points. Caringi shined during the 2013 postseason, netting a pair of goals and dishing out an assist in UMBC’s 4-0 win over the University of Hartford in the America East Championship game, before forcing penalty kicks in the second-round of the NCAA Tournament by scoring the game-tying goal against UConn in the 77th minute. Caringi became the first student-athlete in the history of UMBC men’s soccer player to earn a spot on the National Soccer Coaches’ Association of America (NSCAA) All-America First team and also is the first player to be named America East Striker of the Year on multiple occasions (2012, 2013).

Blake earns his second-straight Defensive Player of the Year nod after posting 10 shutouts and anchoring the Huskies’ back line this season. He finished the season with a 0.75 goals against average and helped UConn advance to the NCAA Men’s Soccer Elite Eight with two penalty kick shoot-out victories in the tournament. After finishing the year with a 10-3-8 record, Blake was named to the NSCAA All-America First Team for the second time in as many seasons and was also chosen as the American Athletic Conference Goalkeeper of the Year for the third time in his career. He currently sits third in program history with 36 career shouts and fourth overall with 46 wins in his three seasons on the Storrs, Conn. campus.

Larin is the 2013 Rookie of the Year after leading the Husky offense during his first college season. He found the back of the net 14 times this season, good enough for the sixth-best mark in the country, with five of his goals being game-winners. The American Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year was a key contributor the Huskies’ 17-match unbeaten streak that began with a win over No. 10 St. Louis University and stretched into the NCAA Tournament. In addition to his ECAC Rookie of the Year award, Larin was named to the NSCAA All-Northeast Region Second Team.


2013 ECAC Division I Men’s Soccer Players of the Year

Offensive Player of the Year
Pete Caringi III, Sr., University of Maryland-Baltimore County

Defensive Player of the Year

Andre Blake, Jr., University of Connecticut

Rookie of the Year
Cyle Larin, Fr., University of Connecticut


2013 ECAC Division I Men’s Soccer All-Star Teams

First Team


Joe Greenspan, Jr., U.S. Naval Academy
Sebastien Ibeagha, Sr., Duke University
Tim Parker, Jr., St. John’s University
Keegan Rosenberry, So., Georgetown University
Will Smith, Sr., College of William & Mary
Derek Vogel, So., U.S. Naval Academy


Dan Metzger, Jr., University of Maryland
Kadeem Dacres, Sr., University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Adria Beso, Jr., University of Connecticut
Mamadou Kansaye, Jr., University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Mael Corboz, So., Rutgers University
Joey Dillon, Sr., Georgetown University
Joseph Schmid, Sr., Monmouth University


Patrick Mullins, Sr., University of Maryland
Steve Neumann, Sr., Georgetown University
Pete Caringi III, Sr., University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Brandon Allen, So., Georgetown University


Andre Blake, Jr., University of Connecticut


Second Team


Patrick Slogic, Sr., Cornell University
Oumar Ballo, Jr., University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Sergio Campbell, Jr., University of Connecticut
Taylor Washington, So., George Mason University
Matt Jeffrey, Jr., Monmouth University
Francis de Vries, Fr., St. Francis University
Nicholas Walker, Sr., Fairleigh Dickinson University


James Mulligan, Sr., St. John’s University
Marcus Luster, Fr., College of William & Mary
Dante Marini, Sr., Northeastern University
Tariq Akeel, So., Brown University
Andrew Tinari, Fr., Columbia University
Chris Thorsheim, So., Bucknell University
Monty Sanders, Sr., College of the Holy Cross
Martin Sanchez, Sr., U.S. Naval Academy


Cyle Larin, Fr., University of Connecticut
Jason Plumhoff, Sr., La Salle University
Kevin Correa, Jr., St. Francis College
Kharlton Belmar, Jr., Virginia Commonwealth University
Guillermo Delgado, Fr., University of Delaware
Chris Griebsch, Sr., Hofstra University
Duke Lacroix, Jr., University of Pennsylvania
Cameron Porter, Jr., Hoftsra Unversity


John McCarthy, Sr., La Salle University


*-Additional Players added due to ties in the voting