Iona College Claims ECAC Women's Cross Country Championship

 2011 ECAC Championship Division

2011 IC4A Championship Division

2011 ECAC University Division

2011 IC4A University Division

2011 ECAC Coaches' Race

2011 IC4A Coaches' Race

The 2011 ECAC and IC4A Cross Country Championships took place on Saturday at historic Van Cortlandt Park in New York City, with runners from more than 75 teams competing for titles.  The meet featured several fine performances over six races on a cool and clear day in the Bronx.

In the IC4A Championship Division race, Princeton University claimed the overall team title, with a combined score of 50.  The Tigers placed five runners in the top 16, including overall individual champion, senior Joe Stilin, who finished the race in 24:57.  The University at Albany (121) finished second in the team standings, led by senior Chris Burke’s fourth place finish (24:57). The La Salle University duo of senior Nick Crits and junior Alfredo Santana finishing second and third respectively, helped the Explorers finish third overall (145).

After finishing eighth overall in the team competition in 2010, Iona College took the ECAC Women’s Championship Division title, placing five runners in the top 15.  Freshman Lauren Calvino finished as Iona’s top finisher in sixth place (17:56).  The La Salle women’s squad mirrored its men’s performance as junior Megan McGlinchey and senior Caitlin Storbeck finished second and third overall.  The Explorers finished second with a team score of 83.  Syracuse University was third overall, led by a seventh place finish from sophomore Lauren Kersjes (17:58).  A runner from James Madison took the individual title for the second consecutive season, as junior Katie Harman won the race in 17:29.

In the University Division races, Binghamton University took the IC4A team title with a score of 35, followed by Fordham University (60) and Fairfield University (109).  Fordham junior Julian Saad won the race in 25:28.  In the ECAC race, the University at Albany took the team title and individual title.  Sophomore Kathryn Fanning won the race in 18:06, helping the Great Danes win the team title (109).  Marist College finished second with a score of 119, and Towson University was third with a score of 159.   

The 2012 ECAC/IC4A Indoor Track and Field Championships will take place in Boston, Massachusetts, beginning on  March 3, 2012.  The IC4A Championship will take place on the campus of Boston University, with the ECAC Championship being held at Reggie Lewis Track and Athletic Center.