June 21, 2012

2012 ECAC Division III South Region Baseball All-Stars Unveiled

(By Mackenzie Larsen, ECAC Championships Summer Intern)

CENTERVILLE, Mass. - The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) announced its Division III South Baseball All-Star Team on Thursday. Receiving individual awards, Doug Fleetwood of Salisbury University is the ECAC Coach of the Year, Pitt-Bradford junior second baseman Derek Smith is the South Player of the Year, Johns Hopkins senior Alex Eliopoulos is the Pitcher of the Year and freshman third baseman Brian Tougher from La Roche College along with Moravian College pitcher Chris Lansberry are the co-Rookies of the Year.

A D3Baseball.com honorable mention All-American and the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Player of the Year, Smith compiled an impressive season leading the conference in six of the major offensive categories: batting average (.482), slugging percentage (.788), on-base percentage (.535), total hits (66), runs batted in (57), and total bases (108). He also led his team in doubles (15), triples (3) and home runs (7) while ranking second in runs scored (37). He also ranked in the top-10 nationally in several of those statistical areas.

The Centennial Conference Pitcher of the Year and D3baseball.com All-Mid-Atlantic Second Team member, Eliopoulos (8-1 overall) finished his career fourth on the Hopkins all-time strikeout list with 224.  He compiled a 1.42 earned-run average and 82 strikeouts in 82.2 innings on the mound while allowing only eight extra-base hits all season.

The AMCC Newcomer of the Year, Tougher helped the Redhawks earn their first-ever NCAA Tournament win.  As a rookie, he led the team in five major offensive categories including runs scored (30), hits (60), doubles (10) RBIs (40) and total bases (73). He finished among AMCC leaders in batting average, on-base percentage, hits and RBI.

The Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year, Lansberry went 8-1 this spring while posting a 2.94 ERA in 49 innings pitched.  He posted 26 strikeouts, which ranked third on the staff.

Coach Fleetwood commanded the Seagulls to a 34-9 record, earning their 13 consecutive NCAA tournament bid and 18th overall.  The nine-time CAC Coach of the Year helped Salisbury to its first Capital Athletic Conference title in three seasons by posting a 15-3 mark in conference play. In a CAC Tournament game against York College, Fleetwood earned his 400th career win.

The head coaches, or his designee, within the ECAC membership voted on teams and Individual awards.

2012 ECAC Division III Baseball South All-Stars

Player of the Year

Derek Smith, Jr., 2B, Pitt-Bradford (Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference)

Pitcher of the Year

Alex Eliopoulos, Sr., Johns Hopkins (Centennial Conference)

Co-Rookies of the Year

Brian Tougher, Fr., 3B, La Roche (Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference)

Chris Lansberry, Fr., P, Moravian (Landmark Conference)

Coach of the Year

Doug Fleetwood, Salisbury (Capital Athletic Conference)

First Team

First Base: Justin Anderson, Sr., Stevenson (Capital Athletic Conference)

Second Base: Derek Smith, Jr., Pitt-Bradford (Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference)

Shortstop: Dave Zubia, Sr., Moravian (Landmark Conference)

Third Base: Matt Bittner, Jr. Penn  State-Behrend (Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference)

Catcher: Brian Mauro, JR, DeSales (Middle Atlantic Conference-Freedom)

Designated Hitter: Tony Prescott, Sr., Stevenson (Capital Athletic Conference)

Outfield: Ethan Moser, Sr., DeSales (Middle Atlantic Conference-Freedom)

Outfield: Kenny Durling, Jr., Misercordia (Middle Atlantic Conference-Freedom)

Outfield: Josh Staniscia, So., Washington and Jefferson (Presidents’ Athletic Conference)

Utility: Dante Cassano, So., Gwynedd-Mercy College (Colonial States Athletic Conference)

Pitcher: Russ Gilliam, Jr., Neumann (Colonial States Athletic Conference)

Pitcher: Alex Eliopoulos, Sr., Johns Hopkins (Centennial Conference)

Second Team

First Base: Jeff Lynch, Jr., Johns Hopkins (Centennial Conference)

Second Base: Chris Smith, Centenary College (Colonial States Athletic Conference)

Shortstop: Dan Fiorito, Sr., Manhattanville (Middle Atlantic Conference-Freedom)

Third Base: Kyle McLain, So., Washington and Jefferson (Presidents’ Athletic Conference)

Catcher: Tyler Bennett, Sr., Salisbury (Capital Athletic Conference)

Designated Hitter: Chris Ray, Jr., Alvernia (Middle Atlantic Conference-Commonwealth)

Outfield: Kevin Smeraglio, Sr., Gwynedd-Mercy (Colonial States Athletic Conference)

Outfield: Jim Baum, Sr., Penn State-Altoona (Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference)

Outfield: Ryan Kragnes, Jr., Penn State-Behrend (Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference)

Utility: Adam Wiley, Sr., Cazenovia (North Atlantic Conference – West Division)

Pitcher: Brendan Close, Sr., Moravian (Landmark Conference)

Pitcher Aaron Benusis, So., Alvernia (Middle Atlantic Conference-Commonwealth)