December 21, 2011

UConn, Duke and West Virginia Claim Individual ECAC Men's Soccer All-Star Awards

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference has announced the ECAC Division I Men’s Soccer All-Stars. Duke University standout Andrew Wenger (pictured, middle) was named ECAC Offensive Player of the Year, while Defensive Player of the Year went to Andrew Jean-Baptiste (pictured, left) of the University of Connecticut. Freshman forward Andrew Bevin of West Virginia University claimed Rookie of the Year honors. The voting was done by the coaches or their designee in the ECAC Division I membership.

Wenger was named the offensive player of the year after leading the Atlantic Coast Conference in scoring with 17 goals and 42 overall points for the 2011 season. After anchoring Duke’s defense at center back in 2010, Wenger made the transition to forward in historic fashion, matching Duke’s single-season record in goals. The junior forward also registered the fifth most overall points in program history.

Jean-Baptiste of Brentwood, N.Y., earned defensive player of the year honors after leading a UConn defense that allowed a mere 10 goals, while recording a program record 16 shutouts on the year. He also contributed offensively by notching two goals and an assist. The sophomore was one of the Huskies most reliable players, playing every minute of the 2011 season.

Bevin was selected as ECAC Rookie of the Year after leading the Mountaineers in scoring with seven goals in 18 games this season. The New Zealand native provided a spark with two game-winning tallies to round out his season’s statistics.

ECAC Division I Men's Soccer All-Stars

Offensive Player the Year
Andrew Wenger, Jr., F, Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Defensive Player of the Year
Andrew Jean-Baptiste, So., B, Connecticut (Big East Conference)

Rookie of the Year
Andrew Bevin, Fr., F, West Virginia (Big East Conference)

First Team

Forward: Andrew Wenger, Jr., Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Forward: Casey Townsend, Sr., Maryland (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Forward: Lucky Mkosana, Sr., Dartmouth (Ivy League)

Midfield: John Stertzer, Jr., Maryland (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Midfield: Christian Barreiro, Sr., Penn (Ivy League)

Midfield: Carl Haworth, Sr., Niagara (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

Defense: Andrew Jean-Baptiste, So., Connecticut (Big East Conference)

Defense: Dylan Remick, Jr., Brown (Ivy League)

Defense: Patrick Slogic, So., Cornell (Ivy League)

Defense: Kevin Strunk, Sr. Lehigh (Patriot League)

Goalkeeper: Andre Blake, Fr., Connecticut (Big East Conference)

Second Team

Forward: Evans Frimpong, Sr., Delaware (Colonial Athletic Association)

Forward: Steven Miller, Sr., Colgate (Patriot League)

Forward: Will Stamatis, Jr., Columbia (Ivy League)

Midfield: Kyle Bekker, Jr., Boston College (Atlantic Coast Conference)

Midfield: Leonardo Fernandes, Jr., Stony Brook (America East Conference)

Midfield: Kevin Dzierzawski, Jr., Dartmouth (Ivy League)

Defense: Thomas Brandt, Sr., Penn (Ivy League)

Defense: Mark Linnville, Jr., Princeton (Ivy League)

Defense: Nick Pappas, Sr., Dartmouth (Ivy League)

Defense: R.J. Allen, Sr., Monmouth (Northeast Conference)

Goalkeeper: Ryan Meara, Sr., Fordham (Atlantic 10 Conference)

-- Jason Mlodzianowski, Asa S. Bushnell Championships Assistant