January 10, 2012

Patriot League Shines among 2011 ECAC Football Championship Subdivision All-Stars

CENTERVILLE, Mass. -- Members of the Patriot League earned the top two awards in the 2011 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) All-Star Awards, announced Tuesday.  Lehigh senior quarterback Chris Lum (pictured, second from left) earned ECAC Offensive Player of the Year, while Georgetown senior defensive lineman Andrew Schaetzke (pictured, far right) won the ECAC Defensive Player of the Year award.  The Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) swept the Rookie of the Year awards, as Towson freshman running back Terrance West (pictured, second from right) and Villanova freshman linebacker Dillon Lucas earned the offensive and defensive awards, respectively. The voting was done by the coaches or their designee in the ECAC Division I membership.

Lum, a senior from Lake Orion, Mich., finished tied for second in voting for the 2011 Walter Payton Award, which recognizes the best overall athlete in the FCS. Lum capped a season for the record books with a second-team Associated Press All-America selection.  Completing 66 percent of his passes (358-of-543) for 4,378 yards and 32 touchdowns, Lum set school records for touchdown passes along with school and Patriot League records for completions and passing yards.  The Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year raised eyebrows with a 401-yard, six-touchdown performance over nationally-ranked New Hampshire on Sept. 10.

A Toledo, Ohio product, Schaetzke anchored the Hoyas defense to an 8-3 record, recording 69 tackles (37 solo, 32 assisted), 22.5 tackles for a loss and 13 sacks.  The senior and Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year became the first All-America selection for Georgetown since 2005, ending a record-setting career that placed him second in Georgetown history in career sacks and third in Patriot League history.

West made quite a splash in his first year wearing a Tigers uniform, landing on the first-team All-America list after earning CAA Offensive Rookie of the Year honors.  The Baltimore, Md., product rushed for 1,294 yards in 11 games, and helped lead Towson to the best turnaround in Division I, improving from 1-10 in 2010 to a 9-3 record and a CAA Championship in 2011.  His school-record and FCS freshman-record 29 touchdowns are the third-highest total in FCS history, tying the number recorded by Colgate’s Jamaal Branch in 2003. 

Hailing from Medford, N.J., Lucas wins the ECAC Defensive Rookie of the Year Award after winning the first CAA Defensive Rookie of the Year Award in Villanova history.  His 92 tackles were the most by any freshman in the FCS this season.

-- Bryan Montgomery, Asa S. Bushnell Communications Assistant

ECAC Division I Football Championship Subdivision All-Stars

Chris Lum, Sr., QB, Lehigh (Patriot League)

Andrew Schaetzke, Sr., DL, Georgetown (Patriot League)

Terrance West, Fr, RB, Towson (Colonial Athletic Association)

Dillon Lucas, Fr., LB, Villanova (Colonial Athletic Association)

First Team Offense All-Stars
QB: Chris Lum, Sr., Lehigh (Patriot League)

RB: Jordan Brown, Jr., Bryant (Northeast Conference)

RB: Jonathan Grimes, Sr., William & Mary (Colonial Athletic Association)

WR: Ryan Spadola, Jr., Lehigh (Patriot League)

WR: Chris Summers, Sr., Liberty (Big South Conference)

TE: Alex Gottlieb, Sr., William & Mary (Colonial Athletic Association)

OL: Troy McKenna, Sr., Lehigh (Patriot League)

OL: Dan Shirey, Jr., Villanova (Colonial Athletic Association)

OL: Gino Gradkowski, Jr., Delaware (Colonial Athletic Association)

OL: Kevin Murphy, Sr., Harvard (Ivy League)

OL: Joe Faiella, Sr., Stony Brook (Big South Conference)

First Team Defense All-Stars
DL: Brian McNally, Sr., New Hampshire (Colonial Athletic Conference)

DL: Andrew Schaetzke, Sr., Georgetown (Patriot League)

DL: Josue Ortiz, Sr., Harvard (Ivy League)

DL: Robert De La Rosa, Sr., Bucknell (Patriot League)

LB: Chris Mandas, Sr., Sacred Heart (Northeast Conference)

LB: Matt Evans, Jr., New Hampshire (Colonial Athletic Association)

LB: Tyler Holmes, Sr., Massachusetts (Colonial Athletic Association)

DB: Jerron McMillian, Sr., Maine (Colonial Athletic Association)

DB: Jimmy Pitts, Sr., Villanova (Colonial Athletic Association)

DB: Bryce Robertson, Sr., Bucknell (Patriot League)

DB: Jordan Dangerfield, Jr., Towson (Colonial Athletic Association)

First Unit Special Teams All-Stars
P: Paul Layton, So., Albany (Northeast Conference)

PK: Brad Greenway, Sr., Cornell (Ivy League)

RS: Kevin Fogg, Jr., Liberty (Big South Conference)

Second Team Offense All-Stars
QB: Kevin Decker, Sr., New Hampshire (Colonial Athletic Association)

RB: Brock Jackolski, Sr., Stony Brook (Big South Conference)

RB: Miguel Maysonet, Jr., Stony Brook (Big South Conference)

WR: Jake Drwal, Sr., Lehigh (Patriot League)

WR: Shane Savage, Sr., Cornell (Ivy League)

TE: Matt Tracey, Sr., Bryant (Northeast Conference)

OL: Jim Leibler, Sr., Lehigh (Patriot League)

OL: James Pagliaro, Sr., William & Mary (Colonial Athletic Association)

OL: Earl Watford, Jr., James Madison (Colonial Athletic Association)

OL: Mike Vuono, Jr., Lehigh (Patriot League)

OL: Chris Howley, Jr., Maine (Colonial Athletic Association)

Second Team Defense All-Stars
DL: D.J. Bryant, Sr., James Madison (Colonial Athletic Association)

DL: Caraun Reid, Jr., Princeton (Ivy League)

DL: Eddie Delaney, Sr., Albany (Northeast Conference)

DL: Josh Eden, Sr., Bucknell (Patriot League)

LB: Mike Groome, Sr., Lehigh (Patriot League)

LB: Stephon Robertson, So., James Madison (Colonial Athletic Association)

LB: Ricky Otis, Sr., Holy Cross (Patriot League)

DB: A.J. Cruz, So., Brown (Ivy League)

DB: Jeremy Moore, Jr., Georgetown (Patriot League)

DB: Brandon Ellis, Sr., Lafayette (Patriot League)

DB: Chandler Fenner, Sr., Holy Cross (Patriot League)

Second Unit Special Teams All-Stars
P: Nathan Lovett, Fr., Brown (Ivy League)

PK: Chris Rogers, Fr., Sacred Heart (Northeast Conference)

RS: Rashad Campbell, Sr., Cornell (Ivy League)