January 10, 2012

Endicott’s Phil Konopka, Kevin Eagan Lead 2011 ECAC Division III North Football All-Stars

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference has announced the 2011 ECAC Division III North Football All-Stars. Endicott College swept the top individual awards as quarterback Phil Konopka was selected as the ECAC Offensive Player of the Year, while defensive end Kevin Eagan earned the ECAC Defensive Player of the Year nod. Running back Justin Wallace of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and defensive end Tyre Coleman of Hobart College were chosen as the ECAC North’s top offensive and defensive rookies, respectively. The voting was done by the coaches or their designee in the ECAC Division III North Region membership.

Konopka earns ECAC Offensive Player of the Year after a record-breaking season for the 9-1 Gulls. The senior quarterback set Endicott program marks of 2,450 passing yards, 25 touchdown passes, 240.5 passing yards per game and an accurate 66.2 completion percentage to highlight the season. His five touchdown performance against Curry College and 407 yards passing against Western New England University showcased his playmaking ability.

Eagan was selected as the ECAC Defensive Player of the Year after a strong year on the defensive line for Endicott. The senior led all Gulls players with 104 tackles on the season including 59 solo take downs, and was ranked 10th nationally in tackles for losses while averaging 2.09 a game for a total of 23.0 on the season. He also showed his game changing ability by collecting three interceptions, three forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries.

Wallace turned in a spectacular first season for MIT as the 2011 ECAC Offensive Rookie of the Year. The running back was ranked second among all freshmen nationally with 109.0 rushing yards per game as he scampered for 981 yards. The highlight of Wallace’s season came in a 23-0 victory over Nichols College in which he rushed for 190 yards for the Engineers.

Coleman is the ECAC Defensive Rookie of the Year after a stellar first-year campaign at defensive end. The Liberty League Rookie of the Year finished the season with 46 tackles, and earned second place on Hobart’s single-season lists in tackles for a loss (19.0) and total sacks (13.0). The freshman had seven games in which he had multiple tackles for a loss and he recorded five multiple-sack games, proving to be a strong contributor on the defensive front.

-- Jason Mlodzianowski, Asa S. Bushnell Sport Administration - Championships Assistant

2011 ECAC Division III North Football All-Stars

Offensive Player of the Year

Phil Konopka, Sr., Quarterback, Endicott (NEFC)

Defensive Player of the Year

Kevin Eagan, Sr., Defensive End, Endicott (NEFC)

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Justin Wallace, Fr., Running Back, MIT (NEFC)

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Tyre Coleman, Fr., Defensive End, Hobart (Liberty League)

First Team Offense

Quarterback: Phil Konopka, Sr., Endicott (NEFC)

Running Back: Johrone Bunch, Sr., Mount Ida (ECFC)

Running Back: Melikke Van Alstyne, So., Framingham State (NEFC)

Wide Receiver: Justin Gallo, Sr., Union (Liberty League)

Wide Receiver: James McCarthy, Sr., Framingham State (NEFC)

Tight End: Billy Chapman, Jr., Middlebury (NESCAC)

Offensive Line: Corey Balcerzak, Sr., St. John Fisher (Empire 8)

Offensive Line: Alex Smith, Sr., Salisbury (Empire 8)

Offensive Line: Sean Meagher, Sr., Springfield (Empire 8)

Offensive Line: Christian Emezie, Jr., Salisbury (Empire 8)

Offensive Line: Andrew McNeice, Sr., Salve Regina (NEFC)

First Team Defense

Defensive Line: Kevin Eagan, Sr., Endicott (NEFC)

Defensive Line: Matt Leon, Sr., Salisbury (Empire 8)

Defensive Line: Matt Harris, So., Gallaudet (ECFC)

Defensive Line: Mike Raplee, Jr., Alfred (Empire 8)

Linebacker: Nick Clark, Sr., Alfred (Empire 8)

Linebacker: A.J. Albert, Sr., Salve Regina (NEFC)

Linebacker: Walter Butler, Sr., Mass. Maritime (NEFC)

Defensive Back: David Vosburgh, Sr., St. John Fisher (Empire 8)

Defensive Back: Andre Carter, So., Salisbury (Empire 8)

Defensive Back: Landrus Lewis, Jr., Amherst (NESCAC)

Defensive Back: Jason Silva, So., Endicott (NEFC)

First Unit Special Teams

Kicker: Dylan Rushe, So., Endicott (NEFC)

Punter: Seth Mitchell, Sr., Utica (Empire 8)

Return Specialist: Dan Ruffrage, Sr., Ithaca (Empire 8)

Second Team Offense

Quarterback: Dan Griffin, Jr., Salisbury (Empire 8)

Running Back: Mike Lane, Sr., Endicott (NEFC)

Running Back: Austin Dwyer, So., Alfred (Empire 8)

Wide Receiver: Brandon Boyle, So., Castleton (ECFC)

Wide Receiver: Robert Bambini, Jr., Curry (NEFC)

Tight End: Matt Dunn, Jr., Utica (Empire 8)

Offensive Line: Rob Sturgis, Sr., Norwich (ECFC)

Offensive Line: Ken Okwuosa, Jr., Salve Regina (NEFC)

Offensive Line: Darius Arrington, So., Frostburg State (Empire 8)

Offensive Line: Ryan Mahoney, Sr., Gallaudet (ECFC)

Offensive Line: Brian Kureta, Sr., Curry (NEFC)

Second Team Defense

Defensive Line: A.J. Knibbs, Jr., Mount Ida (ECFC)

Defensive Line: Chris Sawyer, Sr., St. John Fisher (Empire 8)

Defensive Line: Tyre Coleman, Fr., Hobart (Liberty League)

Defensive Line: Shane Lange, Sr., Salve Regina (NEFC)

Linebacker: Jamey McClendon, Sr., Salisbury (Empire 8)

Linebacker: Anthony Bizzotto, Sr., Fitchburg State (NEFC)

Linebacker: John Cordasco, Sr., UMass Dartmouth (NEFC)

Defensive Back: Spencer White, Jr., Ithaca (Empire 8)

Defensive Back: John Perron, Sr., WPI (Liberty League)

Defensive Back: Christian Mulcahy, Sr., Plymouth State (NEFC)

Defensive Back: Tony Tatum, Jr., Gallaudet (ECFC)

Second Unit Special Teams

Kicker: Kennan Startzell, Jr., Westfield State (NEFC)

Punter: Matt Rawson, Sr., Amherst (NESCAC)

Return Specialist: Darren Hartwell, Jr., Williams (NESCAC)