October 23, 2012

Second Lambert Poll Features New Division I Teams at Top

Full release

CENTERVILLE, Mass. -- The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has released the second Lambert Meadowlands football poll of the 2012 season on Monday, presented by FieldTurf Tarkett.

Rutgers, the only undefeated squad among the Bowl Championship Subdivision teams eligible for the poll, takes over the top spot this week. The Scarlet Knights knocked off number 4 Temple 35-10 while former number 1 Cincinnati dropped a non-conference tilt to Toledo by a 29-23 count. The Bearcats drop to third in this week’s poll. Penn State moves from third to second off a 38-14 victory over Iowa. The remainder of the poll remained unchanged.

In the Football Championship Subdivision, Lehigh assumes the top spot after a 42-19 win over unranked Bucknell. James Madison, last week’s number one team fell to Richmond 35-29 and tumbled to number five. Moving up were number 2 Stony Brook, number three Old Dominion and number four New Hampshire.

Supremacy in Division II is up for grabs this weekend as number 1 Bloomsburg travels to number 2 Shippensburg. Each team is 8-0 following the Huskies’ win over unranked Cheyney, and Shippensburg’s 42-24 victory over number 7 West Chester. The University of New Haven dropped from second to third following the Chargers last minute 45-41 win over Stonehill.

Hobart dropped Union 35-7 to move to 7-0 and Salisbury squeaked out a 24-21 victory to improve 6-1. In third, Wesley College moved into third with a 30 -13 win over Menlo.

Established in 1936 as the Lambert Trophy to recognize supremacy in Eastern college football, the award has since grown to recognize the best team in the East in the Bowl Subdivision. In 1957, the Lambert Cup was created to recognize non-Division I-A teams, and in 1966 a Division III award was added. In 1983, the Lambert family decided the Meadowlands Sports Complex would be the best organization with a sincere and involved interest in college athletics to sponsor and manage the award, and since that time, the awards have been known as the Lambert Meadowlands Awards.

To be eligible for the Lambert Meadowlands Award, a school must be located in the East or play at least half of its schedule against eligible Lambert teams. The territory includes New York, New Jersey, New England and Pennsylvania, while teams in the bordering states of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia and the District of Columbia qualify if at least half of their schedule features eligible teams. Teams in Eastern-based football conferences, regardless of location, qualify if at least half their schedule is against Lambert eligible teams.

The Polls:

Division I - Bowl Subdivision

1. Rutgers 7-0

2. Penn State 5-2

3. Cincinnati 5-1

4. Temple 3-3

5. Syracuse 3-4

6. Pittsburgh 3-4

7. Connecticut 3-5

8. Army 1-6

9. Boston College 1-6

10. Buffalo 1-6


Division I - Championship Subdivision

1. Lehigh 8-0

2. Stony Brook 7-1

3. Old Dominion 6-1

4. New Hampshire 6-2

5. James Madison 5-2

6. Villanova 6-2

7. Albany 6-1

8. Delaware 5-2

9. Richmond 5-3

10. (tie) Harvard 5-1

     Princeton 4-2

     Towson 3-4

Also Receiving Votes: Colgate


Division II

1. Bloomsburg 8-0

2. Shippensburg 8-0

3. New Haven 7-0

4. California (Pa.) 7-1

5. Indiana (Pa.) 7-1

6. American International 6-1

7. West Chester 5-3

8. Mercyhurst 6-2

9. Bentley 5-2

10. Slippery Rock 4-4


Division III

1. Hobart 7-0

2. Salisbury 6-1

3. Wesley 6-1

4. Widener 7-0

5. Johns Hopkins 7-0

6. SUNY Cortland 6-1

7. Trinity-Conn. 5-0

8. Waynesburg 8-0

9. Alfred 8-0

10. Middlebury 5-0

Also Receiving Votes: Franklin & Marshall, Lycoming, Rowan, RPI, St. John Fisher, Salve Regina