November 2, 2009

ECAC Announces Fourth Weekly Lambert Meadowlands Football Poll

CAPE COD, Mass. - The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced the fourth weekly ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands Football Poll presented by FieldTurf. All four teams  remain unchanged at the top of the polls this week. In the Bowl Subdivision poll, Cincinnati (8-0), ranked No. 4 nationally, continues to hold the top spot, with Penn State (8-1) in second and Pittsburgh (7-1) in third place. Defending national champion Richmond (8-0) maintains its hold on the top spot in the Championship Subdivision poll with Villanova (7-1) second and William & Mary (7-1) third. California (Pa.) remains in the No. 1 spot in Division II for the second week in a row. Unbeaten Wesley (8-0), ranked third in the country, remains in the top spot in the Division III poll.

Three new teams entered the poll this week. In the FCS poll, Harvard (5-2) entered the poll at No. 10, while in Division II, Merrimack (6-3) joined the poll at No. 10. After posting a win over Ithaca on Saturday, Springfield (7-1) has joined the Division III poll at No. 10.

The ECAC will release the weekly poll in each of the four divisions (Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II and Division III) and the final poll in January will determine the trophy winners. The first place teams in the final poll will be presented with their Lambert Meadowlands Awards during the Eastern College Football Awards Banquet, held at the Meadowlands Sports Complex.

Established in 1936 as the Lambert Trophy to recognize supremacy in Eastern college football, the award has since grown to recognize the best team in the East in the Bowl Subdivision. In 1957, the Lambert Cup was created to recognize non-Division I-A teams, and in 1966 a Division III award was added. In 1983, the Lambert family decided the Meadowlands Sports Complex would be the best organization with a sincere and involved interest in college athletics to sponsor and manage the award, and since that time, the awards have been known as the Lambert Meadowlands Awards.

To be eligible for the Lambert Meadowlands Award, a school must be located in the East or play at least half of its schedule against eligible Lambert teams. The territory includes New York, New Jersey, New England and Pennsylvania, while teams in the bordering states of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia and the District of Columbia qualify if at least half of their schedule features eligible teams. Teams in Eastern-based football conferences, regardless of location, qualify if at least half their schedule is against Lambert eligible teams.

About the ECAC®
The ECAC is the nation's largest athletic and the only multi-divisional conference in the country with approximately 300 Division I, II, and III colleges and universities. The ECAC stretches from Maine to North Carolina and westerly to Illinois. Established in 1938, the ECAC, a non-profit service organization, sponsors nearly 100 championships in 37 men's and women's sports and assigns more than 4,400 officials in 12 sports. The ECAC also administers nine affiliate sports organizations and six playing leagues, and through the public relations arm of the conference, more than 2,000 student-athletes are recognized annually. Finally, the ECAC serves as the primary conference for select members in the sports of men's ice hockey, women's ice hockey, and men's lacrosse.



ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Football Poll presented by FieldTurf

1. Cincinnati                           

2. Penn State                          

3. Pittsburgh                           

4. South Florida                     

5. Boston College                 

6. West Virginia                     

7. Rutgers                               

8. Temple                                      

9. Connecticut                        

10. Navy                               


ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands Championship Subdivision (FCS) Football Poll presented by FieldTurf

1. Richmond                          

2. Villanova                            

3. William & Mary                

4. New Hampshire                      

5. Holy Cross                                

6. Colgate                               

7. Lafayette                                 

8. Penn                                   

9. Delaware                            

10. Harvard                            

ARV: James Madison, Central Connecticut.


ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands Division II Football Poll presented by FieldTurf 

1. California (PA)                  

2. Shippensburg                    

3. Bentley                               

4. Clarion                               

5. Bloomsburg                     

6. East Stroudsburg               

6. West Chester                      

8. Edinboro                            

9. Southern Conn. State              

10. Merrimack                        

ARV: Slippery Rock, Assumption, Mercyhurst


ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands Division III Football Poll presented by FieldTurf


1. Wesley                               

2. Albright                              

3. Alfred                                

4. Thomas More                     

5. Delaware Valley                

6. Kean                                  

7. Washington & Jefferson    

8. Cortland State                

9. Rowan                            

10. Springfield                      

ARV: Dickinson, Amherst, Montclair State, Curry, Johns Hopkins, Lebanon Valley Union, St. John Fisher