January 7, 2008

ECAC Announces Final Lambert Meadowlands Football Poll

CAPE COD, Mass. - The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced the final weekly ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands Football Poll presented by FieldTurf Tarkett.  Two of the four polls remain the same at the top, but there are changes in the Championship Subdivision and Division III. In the Championship Subdivision Poll, Delaware has claimed the top spot after its run to the National Championship game. In Division III, Wesley College edged out St. John Fisher for No. 1. The Wolverines finished the season ranked No. 5 nationally and advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals.

In the Bowl Subdivision poll, West Virginia remained at No. 1 with Boston College in second. California University (PA) finished on top in Division II. The Vulcans remained at No. 1 throughout the season in the Division II poll.

For West Virginia, it is the third time in school history that it has claimed the Lambert Meadowlands Trophy. The Mountaineers first won the award in 1988 and claimed the trophy again in 1993.

For Delaware, it is a record19th time that it has won the Lambert Meadowlands Cup, more than any school in the Football Championship Subdivision. Penn State has won the Lambert Meadowlands Trophy a record 26 times in the Football Bowl Subdivision.

In Division II and Division III, California University (PA) and Wesley will both be claiming the award for the first time in school history.

The first place teams in the final poll will be presented with their Lambert Meadowlands Awards during the Eastern College Football Awards Banquet, held in the Pegasus Restaurant at the Meadowlands Sports Complex on February 19, 2008.

Established in 1936 as the Lambert Trophy to recognize supremacy in Eastern college football, the award has since grown to recognize the best team in the East in the Bowl Subdivision. In 1957, the Lambert Cup was created to recognize non-Division I-A teams, and in 1966 a Division III award was added. In 1983, the Lambert family decided the Meadowlands Sports Complex would be the best organization with a sincere and involved interest in college athletics to sponsor and manage the award, and since that time, the awards have been known as the Lambert Meadowlands Awards.

To be eligible for the Lambert Meadowlands Award, a school must be located in the East or play half of its schedule against eligible Lambert teams. The territory includes New York, New Jersey, New England and Pennsylvania, while teams in the bordering states of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia and the District of Columbia qualify if half of their schedule features eligible teams.

ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands
Bowl Subdivision (I-A) Football Poll
presented by FieldTurf Tarkett
1. West Virginia                    
2. Boston College                  
3. Penn State                          
4. Cincinnati                          
5. South Florida                     
6. Rutgers                              
7. Connecticut                             
8. Louisville                                  
9. Navy                                          
10. Pittsburgh                                    

ECAC® Lambert Meadowlands
Championship Subdivision (I-AA) Football Poll
presented by FieldTurf Tarkett
1. Delaware                            
2. Richmond                          
3. Massachusetts                           
4. James Madison                  
5. Harvard                              
6. New Hampshire                 
7. Yale                                   
8. Fordham                            
9. Villanova                                  
10. Hofstra                             

® Lambert Meadowlands
Division II Football Poll
presented by FieldTurf Tarkett
1. California (PA)                  
2. Indiana Univ. (PA)            
3. West Chester                     
4. Southern Conn. State         
5. Bloomsburg                                   
6. Slippery Rock                    
7. Bryant                                
7. Edinboro                            
9. Bentley                              
10. American International   

® Lambert Meadowlands
Division III Football Poll
presented by FieldTurf Tarkett
1. Wesley                               
2. St. John Fisher                           
3. Muhlenberg                                   
4. Washington & Jefferson   
5. College of New Jersey           
6. Curry                                  
6. Salisbury                           
8. Ithaca                               
9. Hobart                                     
9. Rensselaer