December 18, 2013

ECAC Announces 2013 Division III Football South All-Star Teams

PDF Release

CENTERVILLE, Mass. — The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced its 2013 Division III South Football All-Star teams. A pair of Widener University student-athletes claimed two of the top four awards, with junior wide receiver Anthony Davis (Upland, Pa.) leading the way as the Offensive Player of the Year. Juniata College senior defensive lineman Brandon Felus (Columbia, Pa.) garnered Defensive Player of the Year honors after leading the Eagles to their first postseason appearance in 40 years. Widener freshman quarterback Seth Klein (Wernersville, Pa.) joined Davis in earning offensive honors, as he was selected as the Offensive Rookie of the Year. SUNY Cortland freshman linebacker Tristan Laurore (Jamaica, N.Y.) was named the Defensive Rookie of the Year. The teams are selected from a possible 30 institutions from seven conferences and the voting was completed by head coaches within the ECAC Division III South Football membership. 

Davis had another career year for the Widener Pride, as he broke the school’s single season record for receptions by hauling in 91 this season. He finished the year ranked No. 6 in all of NCAA Division III football in receptions per game (9.1), No. 19 in receiving yards per game (105.6), and No. 25 in receiving yards (1,056). Davis is also a kick return specialist, and this season he recorded 67 kickoff returns for 1,515 return yards. He was named the Middle Atlantic Conference (MAC) Offensive Player of the Year, and for the second straight year, Davis was selected to the Beyond Sports Network (BSN) All-America first team.

Felus anchored the Juniata defense this season, leading the team in sacks (12) and finished in the top five for total tackles (56). He finished in the top-15 in the country in sacks (T-13) and also added 19 tackles for loss and three pass break-ups. Felus helped Juniata to its most successful season in over 20 years with a record of 7-4, and led the Eagles to their third postseason appearance in school history after a trip to the ECAC Southwest Bowl. He was named the Centennial Conference Defensive Player of the Year and to the BSN All-America second team.

In his first season in a Widener uniform, Klein set a new school record with 285 completions and was named the MAC Rookie of the Year. He threw for 2,809 yards and 17 touchdowns, and was No. 2 in the nation with a completion percentage of 74.4% (285-for-383). Klein also ranked No. 5 in the country in completions per game (28.5) and in a Sep. 14 game against Lebanon Valley College, set a single-game school record for completions (40) and passing yards (392).

During his rookie campaign, Laurore led the Cortland defense with 99 tackles and finished in third with 11.5 tackles for loss. He also recorded eight quarterback hurries, two pass breakups and 1.5 sacks. Laurore was named the New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) Rookie of the Year and earned a spot on the All-NJAC Second Team.


2013 ECAC Division III South Football Players of the Year 

Offensive Player of the Year
Anthony Davis, Jr., Widener University

Defensive Player of the Year
Brandon Felus, Sr., Juniata College

Offensive Rookie of the Year
Seth Klein, Fr., Widener University

Defensive Rookie of the Year
Tristan Laurore, Fr., SUNY Cortland


2013 ECAC Division III Football South All-Star Teams

First Team

E.J. Schneider, Sr., Franklin & Marshall College

Running Back
Dion Wiegand, Sr., Washington & Jefferson College
Joe Rollins, Sr., McDaniel College

Evan Fink, Sr., Lebanon Valley College

Wide Receiver
Anthony Davis, Jr., Widener University
Jerry Rahill, Sr., Ursinus College

Tight End
Michael Long, Jr., Muhlenberg College

Offensive Line
Armand Jennifer, Sr., Johns Hopkins University
Ben Cranston, Sr., Johns Hopkins University
William Carter, Sr., Delaware Valley College
Bruce Doyle, Sr., SUNY Brockport
Zach Wildey, Sr., Washington & Jefferson College

Defensive Line
Chris Alvarez, Jr., Rowan University
Brandon Felus, Sr., Juniata College
Patrick Kimball, Sr., The College of New Jersey
Ryan Jok, Sr., Carnegie Mellon University

Nick Bricker, Sr., The College of New Jersey
Brendan Wengerter, Sr., Franklin & Marshall College
John Arena, Sr., Johns Hopkins University

Defensive Back
Danny Wynne, So., Delaware Valley College
B.J. Monacelli, Sr., Washington & Jefferson College
Anthony Orlando, So., Moravian College
Brian Velasco, Jr., Franklin & Marshall College

Nick Daley, Sr., SUNY Cortland

Julian Frazier, Sr., William Paterson University

Return Specialist
Jordan Zackery, Jr., Franklin & Marshall College

Second Team

Lemar Johnson, Jr., Morrisville State College

Running Back
Cristian Pena, So., Morrisville State College
Brandon Cherry, So., Johns Hopkins University

Wide Receiver
John Babin, Jr., SUNY Cortland
Alex Baroffio, Sr., Washington & Jefferson College

Tight End
Kyle George, So., Wesley College

Offensive Line*
Vinny Bonaddio, Sr., Johns Hopkins University
Sam Dickinson, Sr., Franklin & Marshall College
Josh Barndt, Sr., Albright College
Josh Wallace, So., Delaware Valley College
Kyle Jones, Sr., Rowan University
Bryan Auvil, So., Muhlenberg College
Brendan Kozub, Sr., Lebanon Valley College

Defensive Line*
Brandon Fedorka, Sr., Waynesburg University
Michael Longo, Jr., Johns Hopkins University
Greg DeLade, Jr., Muhlenberg College
Shakore Philip, Fr., Widener University
Kevin Smith, Sr., Lebanon Valley College

Frank Gaffney, Jr., Lebanon Valley College
Tate Moore-Jacobs, Sr., Wilkes University
Eric Rolfes, Sr., Carnegie Mellon University

Defensive Back*
Drew Peterson, Sr., Albright College
Aaron Fant, Jr., Franklin & Marshall College
Wyssmy Despagne, Jr., Bethany College
Vince Demarchi, So., Carnegie Mellon University

Dan Sobolewski, So., Albright College

T.J. Luddy, Sr., Albright College

Return Specialist
Anthony Davis, Jr., Widener University

*-Additional Players added due to ties in the voting